[ Home ] >> [ Tamil Songs ] >> [ Intermediate ] >> [ Mouna Raagam ]
 Sound Track Title: Mouna Raagam
 Starring: Mohan, Karthik, Revathi
 Movie Director: Manirathnam
 Music Director: Ilaiyaraja
 TamilBeat's Rating:                    

Chinna Chinna  Vannakuyil Kon Chitra
Mandram Vandha Thenralukku S.P. Balasubramaniam
Nilave Vaa Sellathe Vaa  Ennalu S.P. Balasubramaniam
Ohho Megam Vanthatho Yethoo S. Janaki
Panivizhum Iravu  Nanaithathu S.P. Balasubramaniam. S. Janaki

Mouna Raagam (Silent Symphony) (1986) is a Tamil language feature film directed by filmmaker Mani Ratnam. The score and soundtrack are composed by Ilayaraja, and the film's cinematography is by P. C. Sriram. Critically acclaimed upon release, it hit cinemas in the mid-1980s and was a stylistic landmark in romance-drama filmmaking in the south Indian motion-picture industry. It is in fact an inspiration for some of the films in Bollywood.

The film is essentially a psychological study revolving around two central characters, a newly-married husband and wife, who find themselves caught in an unexpectedly tense, complex and untenable relationship.

Middle-class young woman Divya (Revathi) accedes to familial pressure and marries Chandrakumar (Mohan), an affable, soft-spoken company manager from New Delhi. She is unable to reconcile her marriage with a haunting past marked by memories of a former lover, Manohar (Karthik), and yearns for a separation. Chandrakumar graciously acquiesces to her wish, but because the law stipulates that a divorce can only be granted after a one-year period, they continue to live divided lives under the same roof for the duration of the period.